2024 British Basketball League Playoffs Explained

The 2024 British Basketball League Playoffs will feature a new format, with the first two rounds taking place over a three game series. 

The top four in the Championship standings have home court advantage in the opening round, playing two of the potential three games at home. 

Those sides have the choice of the structure of those series, opting for game one or two to be their opening home fixture. 

Here’s how the postseason is set to unfold for the Riders…

Riders’ Round One

The Riders secured the fifth seed in the British Basketball League Championship, and will face Sheffield Sharks in round one. 

They will open the series on the road on April 28 at 4 pm, host game two on May 4 at 6:45 pm, and if necessary, play a deciding game three in Sheffield on Sunday May 5 at 3 pm.

Tickets are on sale for game two at 5 pm, and thanks to the generosity of the Riders’ sponsors at RDL Technologies, Vertu Motors, Torr Waterfield, Jelson Homes and EverythingBranded, the first 1200 fans at the Arena for our home game on May 4 will receive a free Dark Horse Riders T-Shirt. 

Leicester Riders’ 2024 “Dark Horse” Playoff T-Shirt.

If you are travelling to game one in Sheffield and want a Dark Horse T-shirt, you can contact [email protected] to arrange.

Playoff Bracket

After round one has concluded, the seeding will be restructured so the highest remaining seed will play the lowest. 

Therefore, the only scenario where the Riders would have home court advantage in the second round would be if two or more of the higher seeds lost in the opening round. 

If one or none of the top seeded teams lose, the Riders will host only one game of the second round series. 

The Final

As was the case in previous seasons, the Playoff Final will be a single game to decide the 2024 Playoff champions. 

Both Men’s and Women’s Finals will be played at the O2 Arena on Sunday May 19.

You can purchase tickets here, but if the Riders should make the Final at the O2, Leicester Riders will release ticket allocation for the Riders section of the Arena.